Looking for a OE Electronic 18RG Distributor

Please introduce yourself and Celica or ride(s).
mmccul3797

Looking for a OE Electronic 18RG Distributor

Post by mmccul3797 »

Hello Everyone. Just signed up here yesterday. My name is Matt. Some of you might recognize my user name here from eBay. I sell parts on eBay for a living. I just bought a 1974 RA21 last week with a 18RG engine in it for $500.00. The car has been parked for 14 years. The history of this car is a complete mystery since it changed hands a couple times before ending up in a junk yard where I bought it. I am very familiar with these 18RG engines. Back in the late 80s and early 90s I bought several of these engines when they were still being imported though the JDM engine importers. One of the engines I bought back then did have a electronic distributor. After fighting the typical breaker points issues. I swapped in the electronic distributor and immediately the engine ran smoother. Idled smoother. I know there are much better options available these days, but I just want to see how well I can get this engine running before I pull it out of the car. I bought the car for parts so I will be tearing it apart after I drive it home this weekend. From what I can tell. The engine was installed in the car, But most likely never was driven. After I spent 4 hours cleaning a black tar like substance out of the carbs. The engine fired right up. I changed the oil and synchronized the carbs, but didn't idle very good or rev up. After looking over everything closely. I discovered a few thing connected up wrong and numerous vacuum leaks. After correcting those issues. It ran much better. I know I am fighting the inconsistent spark from a crappy points ignition system so I need to swap that out to do further tuning. I included a link to a video showing the engine running. The link is just below the picture of the 18RG engine in the RA21. When I made the video. I had only had it running for about 10 minutes after a f