New Guy Here

Please introduce yourself and Celica or ride(s).
zachm611

New Guy Here

Post by zachm611 »

Hey everyone, im new to celicas and new to 1stgencelica, but I have 2 MK3 Supras, well one is the wifes supra and the other is mine, however I recently picked up a 75 celica GT from the local mans shopping mall (aka junkyard) and its in decent shape, no dents just needs paint, only thing really wrong with the body is the trunk lock cylinder has been busted out. im debating with trying to install a latch mechanism like most other cars now days and just cover that area.

to my suprise it fired right up when a battery was put in, had a really bad exhaust leak but I just had to have it, my next project was going to be either a 1st gen celica or an AE86. I fixed the exhaust leak, it ended up being the gasket and now she sounds much better, except that now I just hear some noise coming from the valves.

The other day I took it on a 2 hour trip and got poor gas mileage around 10mpg and the car seemed a little sluggish so was looking around today and realized that the distributor was almost all the way retarded. I adjusted it a little by ear (I need to buy a timing light) and now its running great! I almost wonder if the P/O did that to lower the idle instead of just adjusting the idle screw because after i advanced it a little it was idling really high now its at a solid 800rpm, is this normal idle speed?

Also I ran a compression test and got between 148-150 in all 4 cylinders. Is this normal?

sorry for the newb questions and my terrible grammar, english never was a good subject for me.
'
faffi

Re: New Guy Here

Post by faffi »

welcome to the forum
where are you from?
do you have photo's?
:cheers:
zachm611

Post by zachm611 »

I am from New Mexico sorry it took so long heres a couple pics a couple I included the wifes supra. No the front doesnt usually sit that high on the MK3 im just waiting to get the block back from the machine shop so I can assemble it.