New member from Northern Nevada with a Liftback project

Please introduce yourself and Celica or ride(s).
BoxheadTim

New member from Northern Nevada with a Liftback project

Post by BoxheadTim »

Guess I should say hello before I start asking a bunch of stupid questions :D. And yes, I've found the FAQ section already.

I've been playing with cars for over 20 years by now, but never had a chance to own a Celica LB when I lived in Europe simply because they were either too far gone or too expensive.

I've just acquired a '77 LB that is a bit of a project. It looks like it's spent most of its life up here in Northern Nevada so it appears to be pretty solid. According to the guy I bought it off it belonged to an old lady for a long time, then her grandson drove it but decided that the carb and the emissions gear would look much better in his truck. The guy I bought it off got it running again with a Weber carb (that looks more like a parts carb to me, it's missing a few bits) and it sounds sweet, but it's not roadworthy at the moment. I haven't actually worked on a Toyota of this age (although I used to own an '80 LB a long time ago so I'll need plenty of advice and most likely a bunch of parts, too.

Anyway, the plan is to clean it up, get it repainted and drive it like a stole it (on closed circuits, not public roads). Here it is, in its current faded glory:

1977 Liftback project.
Raffaelli

Re: New member from Northern Nevada with a Liftback project

Post by Raffaelli »

Welcome!

I like the paintjob. Even the slotted mags dont look bad on it.

:2thumbs:
I sent my Celica to hell,

It will be waiting for me...
rachuck21

Post by rachuck21 »

Hi ! Are those stripes factory ? Kinda look like it. Nice car ! I love slotted mags ! Chuck
"If you're going through hell, keep going." Winston Churchill
https://imgur.com/m2giFIx
BoxheadTim

Post by BoxheadTim »